Menu
Loading Events
Find Events

Event Views Navigation

Upcoming Events › event

Events List Navigation

March 2017

Riot Grrrl Feminist Book Club: Bad Feminist

March 26 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
shelf Life Books

Literature is a powerful tool for taking down the patriarchy, and on the last Sunday of every month we will be getting together to discuss the months chosen book. This month, our book of focus is Roxane Gay’s Bad Feminist, a collection of essays spanning politics, criticism, and feminism from one of the most-watched young cultural observers of her generation. “Pink is my favorite color. I used to say my favorite color was black to be cool, but it is pink—all shades…

Find out more »

WGA Presents: The Business of Writing with Teresa de Grosbois

March 29 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Shelf Life Books,
1302-4th Street SW, Calgary, Alberta Canada
+ Google Map

How do authors achieve bestseller status? What are your best publishing options? How can we entice top authorities on our subject matter to endorse our books? Join four-time bestselling author Teresa de Grosbois for an inspiring evening of advice on the business of writing. Teresa is the #1 International bestselling author of Mass Influence, a bestseller in 7 countries. Specializing in the topic of influence, Teresa is the founder of the Evolutionary Business Council and leads an international organization of influential speakers and authors. She has spoken about…

Find out more »

Paulo da Costa – The Midwife of Torment and Other Stories

March 30 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Shelf Life Books,
1302-4th Street SW, Calgary, Alberta Canada
+ Google Map

Celebrate the launch and reading of Paulo da Costa’s latest volume of short stories, The Midwife of Torment and Other Stories. The Midwife of Torment and Other Stories is a collection of sudden fiction that compresses its narrative to deliver a variety of stories that alternate the flavour of a philosophical reflection with the whimsical enchantment of a fable with a twist. These stories also often dwell on the strange—and the horror—found in our mundane lives. Stories that, on occasion,…

Find out more »
April 2017

Michelle Elrick – then/again w/ Natalie Simpson

April 1 @ 2:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Shelf Life Books,
1302-4th Street SW, Calgary, Alberta Canada
+ Google Map

Michelle Elrick launches her latest volume of poetry then/again, and will be joined by Natalie Simpson on this fine afternoon of readings. then/again is a poetic account of finding home, and the meanings and moments that the concept of home can come to embody. The collection tracks the poet through a landscape of intimate places—an ancestral home in Scotland, a mother’s birthplace in Salzburg, a childhood home on the West Coast—as well as the memory-warped terrain of the poet’s past houses.…

Find out more »

Classical Guitar Society of Calgary Preview Concert

April 2 @ 2:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Shelf Life Books,
1302-4th Street SW, Calgary, Alberta Canada
+ Google Map

Stop by for an afternoon of live classical guitar performances. Performers include: Brett Gunther Yu Nakamura Quinn Goddard Matthew Beaubien

Find out more »

Can You Hear Me Now? Calgary’s All-ages Poetry Slam

April 4 @ 6:30 pm - 8:30 pm
Shelf Life Books

Can You Hear Me Now? Come out to Calgary’s all-ages poetry slam and open mic as we gear up for the fourth annual provincial junior high and high school poetry slam competition. Poets of all ages are welcome to come out and share their words, competitively (in the slam) or non-competitively (open mic). For more information visit http://www.cyhmnslam.com/

Find out more »

Steven Peters – 59 Glass Bridges

April 5 @ 7:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Shelf Life Books,
1302-4th Street SW, Calgary, Alberta Canada
+ Google Map

We invite you to the book launch and reading of Steven Peters’ novel 59 Glass Bridges. In 59 Glass Bridges, an unnamed narrator travels through a maze that is at once mutable and immutable: walls fall to vine-filled forests, hallways to rivers, bridges to lamp-lit boats. What remains is the desire to escape. He is led along his harrowing path by Willow, a mysterious figure who cajoles him and responds to questions in a winking sphinx-like manner, with answers that…

Find out more »
Free

Sharon Butala – Where I Live Now

April 6 @ 7:00 am - 9:00 pm
Shelf Life Books,
1302-4th Street SW, Calgary, Alberta Canada
+ Google Map

Spend the evening at the book launch and reading of Sharon Butala’s Where I Live Now. In the tradition of Diana Athill’s Somewhere Towards the End and Atul Gawande’s Being Mortal comes a profound story about one woman’s journey through death and grief to renewal and hope. When Butala’s husband, Peter, died unexpectedly she found herself with no place to call home. Torn by grief, she fled the ranchlands of southwest Saskatchewan and moved to the city, leaving behind almost everything…

Find out more »

Walter Hildebrandt and Charles Noble: Double Book Launch

April 9 @ 2:00 pm - 4:00 pm
Shelf Life Books,
1302-4th Street SW, Calgary, Alberta Canada
+ Google Map

We invite you to the double launch of Walter Hildebrandt’s Documentaries and Charles Noble’s Mack the Naïf. Taking its inspiration from director Werner Herzog’s concept of “ecstatic truth” and recalling D.W. Griffith’s silent film classic Intolerance, poet/ historian Walter Hildebrandt’s ambi-tious new book of poems is a searing denunciation of the exploitation of the poor and powerless at the hands of the wealthy. In forceful, unadorned language, Hildebrandt draws a clear line from historical outrages such as the Dakota Wars…

Find out more »

Flood Stories Edition 2: Book Launch

April 11 @ 7:00 pm - 9:30 pm
Shelf Life Books

Save the date and celebrate the second edition of Flood Stories, a collection of writing and images from Calgary’s 2013 flood by program participants from Alpha House, Calgary Drop-In Centre, Inn From the Cold, and the Alex. TMC’s collection Voices in the Wind will also be available. Refreshments will be served following a short reading. The proceeds of all Festival book sales support our ongoing programming. Part of THIS IS MY CITY FESTIVAL 2017. Check out other events here: http://thisismycitycalgary.ca/2017/2017_Schedule.html

Find out more »
+ Export Listed Events