Menu
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Sharon Butala – Where I Live Now

April 6 @ 7:00 am - 9:00 pm

| Free

Spend the evening at the book launch and reading of Sharon Butala’s Where I Live Now.
In the tradition of Diana Athill’s Somewhere Towards the End and Atul Gawande’s Being Mortal comes a profound story about one woman’s journey through death and grief to renewal and hope.

When Butala’s husband, Peter, died unexpectedly she found herself with no place to call home. Torn by grief, she fled the ranchlands of southwest Saskatchewan and moved to the city, leaving behind almost everything she owned. She took with her a lifetime of experience and a limitless well of memory – of a marriage that everybody said would not last but did, and of an isolated yet intensely beautiful life lived in nature.

Reinventing herself in an urban landscape was painful, and facing her life as a widow tested her very being. Yet out of this bard-won new existence emerges a compelling and warmhearted memoir that not only offers solace and wisdom but also inspiration and healing to those who have experienced grief and loss.

Brace and honest, Where I Live Now is a revelatory book that understands the many homes women must build for themselves in a lifetime.

Sharon Butala is an award-winning author of fiction and non-fiction. Her classic non-fiction work, The Perfection of the Morning, was shortlisted for a Governor General’s Award and was a #1 bestseller. Her latest novel, Wild Rose, was a finalist for the W.O. Mitchell Book Prize. She is the recipient of the Saskatchewan Order of Merit and the 2012 Cheryl and Henry Kloppenburg Award for
Literary Excellence. In 2002 she became an Officer of the Order of Canada. She lives in Calgary, Alberta.

Details

Date:
April 6
Time:
7:00 am - 9:00 pm
Cost:
Free
Event Category:
Website:
https://www.facebook.com/events/269583106806163/

Organizer

Shelf Life Books
Phone:
(403) 265-1033
Website:
http://shelflifebooks.ca

Venue

Shelf Life Books
1302-4th Street SW, Calgary, Alberta Canada
+ Google Map